ADMIN: Bogus Receipt Requests to Join PipingDesign

From: <Paul>
Date: Thu Mar 17 2005 - 20:49:00 EST

My email address alias <advertise_no-spam-to-admin@pipingdesign.com> is one that I specifically created for the purpose of filtering incoming email that originates from people or bots sending email by clicking on the "This space for rent" graphic at www.pipingdesign.com.

This email address has not been disclosed anywhere else.

Why am I getting unsolicited email confirmation to join the very YahooGroup that I have owned since 1999?

I'm sure there's a very complicated explanation behind all this but there won't be a satisfactory answer. I've screencapped the full email header content in case anyone wants to take a closer look.

Paul

Hello advertise_no-spam-to-admin@pipingdesign.com,

We have received your request to join the PipingDesign group hosted by Yahoo! Groups, a free, easy-to-use community service.

This request will expire in 7 days.

TO BECOME A MEMBER OF THE GROUP:

  1. Go to the Yahoo! Groups site by clicking on this link:

http://groups.yahoo.com/i?i=ImjJeVGaDFXQ5gGl_YcN9hpw5Lc&e=advertise_no-spam-to-a\ dmin%40pipingdesign%2Ecom

    (If clicking doesn't work, "Cut" and "Paste" the line above into your      Web browser's address bar.)

-OR-

2) REPLY to this email by clicking "Reply" and then "Send"

     in your email program

If you did not request, or do not want, a membership in the PipingDesign group, please accept our apologies and ignore this message.

Regards,

Yahoo! Groups Customer Care

Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/ Received on Thu Mar 17 20:49:00 2005

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.8 : Mon Oct 27 2008 - 20:24:07 EDT